James Dean The Story Of A Rebel……………….YARN

Image

It all started with 4 ounces of the prettiest roving I’ve ever seen. I fell in love with this merino nylon roving the second I took it out of the box my swap partner sent me. The colors were what got me then I saw the name of the roving Forever In Blue Jeans I flipped being a lover of all things Rockabilly made the fiber even sweeter. Now usually when   I spin a yarn I start out with a name in mind for the yarn that will come from the fiber and end up changing the name before the yarn is plied and dried but this was not the case this time around James Dean was the name I started with and ended up using.

You may be asking yourself 1) why is this chick writing a book about some yarn? whooptee tah! and 2) why did you choose that name for this yarn? Well first things first James Dean had the most beautiful blue eyes and that was my first thought those blue eyes the other reason because when I think of blue jeans I think James Dean in a pair of blues jeans with the white t shirt and the pack of Lucky Strike’s rolled up in the sleeve. It sure didn’t help matters that every time I touched my spindle the David Essex song Rock On played in my head. Other names did cross my my mind as I tugged at the fiber and watched it spin but this yarn was always meant to be James Dean.

If you aren’t a spinner or are a newbie like me then you may not know that spinning colored fiber does some fun and interesting things to the colors once you start to spin it. This was my first multicolored fiber up until now I’ve dyed a couple of skeins after they were spun and have worked with solid or natural colored fibers. Oh the colors I saw I saw midnight skies, Cookie Monster, sky blue, indigo, stormy clouds and so much more while watching this yarn spin into singles. The first hour and a half went smoothly then tragedy struck my 3 year old son got a hold of my first roll of singles while I was performing my super mom duties dad did not take the singles away and my longest single ever was tangled ahhhhhhhhhhh. I sat for 2 hours rescuing that single only to have it break into three pieces before I was done after the singles were carefully rolled back up to bed I went and the spinning began bright and early the next day.

It took me one week from start to finish to spin that roving into yarn ply it and dry it and let me tell you it was worth every last minute. As I was spinning I was concerned with the white sections that I would have huge sections of yarn that were just dull and white but that was not the case, no even where there are sections of white they are anything but boring. To truly appreciate this yarn one must see it for themselves I could go on and on about the things I see in that yarn. I am very proud of this yarn it has a lot of my firsts my first stupid long single, my first multicolored roving my first commitment to a name for a yarn and most importantly my first novelty yarn.

The story of James Dean does not end here my followers for I have big plans for that 468 yards of yarn. Please stay tuned and enjoy these pictures of James Dean………………….THE YARN

Imagethe soakImageImage  ROCK ONImageJames Dean

2 thoughts on “James Dean The Story Of A Rebel……………….YARN

  1. Hi! Thank you for stopping by my blog and following! I love yarn too, but I don’t spin. I knit and crochet in the winter, but haven’t advanced much past rectangles and squares. I love your James Dean yarn – it’s fabulous!

    • aww to knit wish i could lol i crochet but spinning keeps me sane in house full of kids. thanks for the comment and follow found your blog through the lesleycarter post about the seconds in a day great post went to your blog and liked what i saw keep up the awesome blogging

Leave a Reply

